Coverart for item
The Resource Treasures from the attic : the extraordinary story of Anne Frank's family, Mirjam Pressler with Gerti Elias ; translated from the German by Damion Searls

Treasures from the attic : the extraordinary story of Anne Frank's family, Mirjam Pressler with Gerti Elias ; translated from the German by Damion Searls

Label
Treasures from the attic : the extraordinary story of Anne Frank's family
Title
Treasures from the attic
Title remainder
the extraordinary story of Anne Frank's family
Statement of responsibility
Mirjam Pressler with Gerti Elias ; translated from the German by Damion Searls
Title variation
Treasures from the attic
Title variation remainder
the extraordinary story of Anne Franks family
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
  • eng
  • ger
  • eng
Summary
Traces the discovery by Frank's aunt's daughter-in-law of numerous family correspondences and keepsakes and what they revealed about the Frank family and the forces that shaped the famous young diarist
Review
  • With her famous diary of life in the "secret annex," Anne Frank provided an achingly personal account of the terrors of the Holocaust and an intimate look at much of her family, particularly her cousin Buddy. Some of these figures have remained shadowy for years, but the 2001 discovery of over 6,000 new documents—letters, family histories, and poems—create a wider narrative history of the Franks, and reveal young Anne—who she was, where she came from, her legacy—with much more scope and clarity than before. Pressler, co-editor (with Otto Frank) of the excellent 1995 edition of Frank's diary, deftly takes readers through the family, from matriarch Alice to aunt Helene to family members living today, like Buddy's wife Gertrude (who discovered the new documents in Helene's attic). Though the narrative can occasionally get lost jumping across time, it's never less than compelling. Readers unfamiliar with the diary may have some initial trouble understanding the significance of particular family members, but Pressler shows excellent editorial sense in organizing a massive array of documents. This is a valuable addition to the Anne Frank story. (Apr.) --Staff (Reviewed May 2, 2011) (Publishers Weekly, vol 258, issue 18, p)
  • Heart-rending documents of Anne Frank's family, both before and after the devastating events of the war. As the German translator of the unexpurgated edition of Anne Frank's Diary of a Young Girl, Pressler brings to this family memoir tremendous care, knowledge and dignity. The task of tracing the life of Anne's father, Otto Frank, and his mother, Alice Frank, shattered by the Nazi war machine and virulent anti-Semitism, was given to Pressler by Gerti Elias, the wife of Otto Frank's nephew; Gerti became the caretaker of her in-laws old home in Basel, Switzerland, where some of the family had moved in 1933 from Frankfurt, when life under the new Nazi regime became too onerous. While Otto moved from Frankfurt with his young family to try to restart his business in Amsterdam, his mother resettled in Basel, and in the attic of her house, a treasure of letters and photographs had been stored for years. Among them, incredibly, are the first missives from Otto to his mother in 1945 on stationery from the Auschwitz concentration camp, where he had miraculously survived after being separated from his wife and two daughters, Margot and Anne, in September 1944, and still knew nothing of their fate. Subsequent letters reveal the crushing news that Edith had died from illness in January, and the girls in March at Bergen-Belsen. Pressler focuses on the pre-war life of Alice Frank, whose family had prospered amid the ghettos of Frankfurt. The author also pursues the career of Alice's grandson, Buddy (once playmate of Anne Frank), who enjoyed—in a terrible parallel irony—a successful stage and ice-skating career all while the war was destroying the lives of his family. For readers of Anne Frank's diary—namely, nearly everyone—this is a moving amplification on her too-brief life.  (Kirkus Reviews, March 1, 2011)
Biography type
collective biography
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
389999
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Pressler, Mirjam
Dewey number
  • 940.53/180922
  • B
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
LC call number
DS134.42.F73
LC item number
P7413 2011
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorDate
1933-
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Elias, Gerti
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Frank, Anne
  • Frank family
  • Jews
  • Jews
  • Jews
  • Frank, Anne
  • Frank family
  • Families
  • Jews
  • Germany
  • Netherlands
  • Switzerland
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
the extraordinary story of Anne Frank's family
Label
Treasures from the attic : the extraordinary story of Anne Frank's family, Mirjam Pressler with Gerti Elias ; translated from the German by Damion Searls
Instantiates
Publication
Note
"Originally published in Germany as Grèusse und Kèusse an alle: Die Geschichte der Familie von Anne Frank by S. Fischer Verlag GmbH, Frankfurt am Main, in 2009"--Title page verso
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 403-404)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
  • You can't let yourself get depressed
  • Buddy Elias, Anne's cousin (b. 1925). Starting out
  • Years on the road ; The
  • globe-trotter ; The
  • play
  • Our reason for being here ; The
  • movie
  • Homesick for Herbstgasse
  • Home at last
  • Winter on Autumn Lane ; A
  • Alice Frank, neâe Stern, Anne's grandmother (1865-1953). Many good and beautiful things
  • new purpose in life
  • Stern/Frank, Elias family tree
  • Where we come from
  • Family life ; The
  • siblings
  • But the ones who stayed were scattered to the winds
  • Helene Elias, neâe Frank, Anne's aunt (1893-1986). Daily life and distant longings ; The
  • time without letters
  • Uncertainty
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
1st American ed.
Extent
vi, 404 pages
Isbn
9780385533393
Lccn
2011000126
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)656544314
Label
Treasures from the attic : the extraordinary story of Anne Frank's family, Mirjam Pressler with Gerti Elias ; translated from the German by Damion Searls
Publication
Note
"Originally published in Germany as Grèusse und Kèusse an alle: Die Geschichte der Familie von Anne Frank by S. Fischer Verlag GmbH, Frankfurt am Main, in 2009"--Title page verso
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 403-404)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
  • You can't let yourself get depressed
  • Buddy Elias, Anne's cousin (b. 1925). Starting out
  • Years on the road ; The
  • globe-trotter ; The
  • play
  • Our reason for being here ; The
  • movie
  • Homesick for Herbstgasse
  • Home at last
  • Winter on Autumn Lane ; A
  • Alice Frank, neâe Stern, Anne's grandmother (1865-1953). Many good and beautiful things
  • new purpose in life
  • Stern/Frank, Elias family tree
  • Where we come from
  • Family life ; The
  • siblings
  • But the ones who stayed were scattered to the winds
  • Helene Elias, neâe Frank, Anne's aunt (1893-1986). Daily life and distant longings ; The
  • time without letters
  • Uncertainty
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
1st American ed.
Extent
vi, 404 pages
Isbn
9780385533393
Lccn
2011000126
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)656544314

Library Locations

    • A. Mitchell Powell Jr. BranchBorrow it
      25 Hospital Road, Newnan, GA, 30263, US
      33.387732 -84.816797

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...