Coverart for item
The Resource The room on Rue Amâelie, Kristin Harmel

The room on Rue Amâelie, Kristin Harmel

Label
The room on Rue Amâelie
Title
The room on Rue Amâelie
Statement of responsibility
Kristin Harmel
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "For fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family--by the international bestselling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again--tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II. When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too. Charlotte Dacher is eleven when the Germans roll into the French capital, their sinister swastika flags snapping in the breeze. After the Jewish restrictions take effect and Jews are ordered to wear the yellow star, Charlotte can't imagine things getting much worse. But then the mass deportations begin, and her life is ripped forever apart. Thomas Clarke joins the British Royal Air Force to protect his country, but when his beloved mother dies in a German bombing during the waning days of the Blitz, he wonders if he's really making a difference. Then he finds himself in Paris, in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower, and he discovers a new reason to keep fighting--and an unexpected road home. When fate brings them together, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas must summon the courage to defy the Nazis--and to open their own broken hearts--as they fight to survive. Rich with historical drama and emotional depth, this is an unforgettable story that will stay with you long after the final page is turned"--
  • Newlywed Ruby Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband Marcel, imagining strolls in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter. Charlotte Dacher is eleven when the Germans roll into the French capital, and when Jews are ordered to wear the yellow star, she can't imagine things getting much worse. Thomas Clarke joins the British Royal Air Force to protect his country; when his mother dies during the waning days of the Blitz, he wonders if he's making a difference. Fate brings them together, and Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas must summon the courage to defy the Nazis-- and to open their own broken hearts-- as they fight to survive
Storyline
Tone
Character
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10624026
Cataloging source
PUL
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Harmel, Kristin
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
Language note
Text in English
LC call number
PS3608.A745
LC item number
R66 2018
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • Americans
  • Jewish children
  • Air pilots
  • World War, 1939-1945
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • FICTION
  • Air pilots
  • Americans
  • Jewish children
  • France
  • France
  • World War, 1939-1945
Label
The room on Rue Amâelie, Kristin Harmel
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (page 386)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Gallery books hardcover edition.
Extent
391 pages
Isbn
9781501190544
Lccn
2017047966
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
99975780196
System control number
(OCoLC)1010612712
Label
The room on Rue Amâelie, Kristin Harmel
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (page 386)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Gallery books hardcover edition.
Extent
391 pages
Isbn
9781501190544
Lccn
2017047966
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
99975780196
System control number
(OCoLC)1010612712

Library Locations

    • A. Mitchell Powell Jr. BranchBorrow it
      25 Hospital Road, Newnan, GA, 30263, US
      33.387732 -84.816797

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...