Coverart for item
The Resource Pride, prejudice, and other flavors : a novel, Sonali Dev

Pride, prejudice, and other flavors : a novel, Sonali Dev

Label
Pride, prejudice, and other flavors : a novel
Title
Pride, prejudice, and other flavors
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Sonali Dev
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "Award-winning author Sonali Dev launches a new series about the Rajes, an immigrant Indian family descended from royalty, who have built their lives in San Francisco."--
  • Dr. Trisha Raje is San Francisco's most acclaimed neurosurgeon. But that's not enough for the Rajes, her influential immigrant family who achieved power by making its own non-negotiable rules: never trust an outsider, never do anything to jeopardize your brother's political aspirations, and never, ever, defy your family. Trisha has been guilty of breaking all the rules, but finally has a chance to redeem herself. So long as she doesn't repeat her old mistakes. Up-and-coming chef DJ Caine has known people like Trisha before, people who judge him by his rough beginnings and place pedigree above character. He needs the lucrative job the Rajes offer, but he values his pride too much to indulge Trisha's arrogance. Then he discovers that she's the only surgeon who can save his sister's life. But before a future can be savored there's a past to be reckoned with...
Member of
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
LibraryReads Favorites, 2019.
Review
  • Trisha Raje is a talented neurosurgeon, from an immigrant Indian family, descended from royalty. When she meets a patient’s brother we embark on a classic tale of enemies to lovers. With likable characters and an appealing story line, I highly recommend this book. For readers who enjoyed Pride and Prejudice and The Wedding Party. -- Ellen Firer, Merrick Library, Merrick, NY. (LibraryReads, May 2019)
  • Dev (A Bollywood Affair) debuts a sweeping series starring the Raje family, immigrants descended from Indian royalty who are making a dazzling mark on American society, with this romance based very loosely on Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. Dr. Trisha Raje is a brilliant neurosurgeon with little time for love or family. Multiracial British chef DJ Caine has cared for his younger sister all their lives and has assumed the burden of her exorbitant medical bills from fighting a progressive brain tumor. When DJ is hired by Trisha’s socialite mother to cater an important event, the two butt heads; DJ finds Trisha attractive but thinks she has terrible manners. Upon realizing DJ’s beloved sister is also Trisha’s beloved patient—who’s currently refusing treatment—the dueling duo is forced to collude to find a life-saving solution. Over time, their antipathy gradually shifts to love, but the return of Raje family foe Julia Wickham risks disrupting their growing romance. Dev adroitly addresses matters of racism, classism, rape culture, and immigrant experiences in this entertaining contemporary story. Austen fans will find that little of the original remains; where Austen’s focus was on women, Dev harps on the importance of being validated by men. Taken on its own, though, this is a complex and riveting work. Agent: Claudia Cross, Folio Literary Mgmt. (May) --Staff (Reviewed 03/18/2019) (Publishers Weekly, vol 266, issue 11, p)
  • /* Starred Review */ DJ Caine, a multiracial British Cordon Bleu-trained chef, is dismayed to learn that the arrogant woman who invaded "his" kitchen, almost tipped over his caramel, and then referred to him as "the hired help" is Trisha Raje, the brilliant doctor he's counting on to save his sister Emma's life. No slouch in the talent department himself, DJ knows he has no choice but to tamp down his resentment and find a way to get along with Trisha, not only for Emma's sake but also for his career as a personal chef. Then the sparks that fly between them turn to attraction, confusing them both and leading to a union that is profound and totally fresh. A career-focused heroine who's unrivaled in the operating room but lost when it comes to relationships and a conflicted hero whose food is pure magic sort their way through prejudices, first impressions, miscommunications, and family expectations in a story alight with unforgettable characters. VERDICT With humor, insight, and culinary descriptions so rich the tantalizing aromas of curry and cilantro practically waft from the pages, Dev's latest draws readers into a tangled world of class, cultural, and political issues in a delicious riff on Pride and Prejudice. Dev (A Distant Heart) lives in the Chicago area. [See Prepub Alert, 11/26/18.] --Kristin Ramsdell (Reviewed 04/01/2019) (Library Journal, vol 144, issue 3, p69)
  • A workaholic, socially inept Indian-American brain surgeon is caught off guard by her attraction to a Rwandan/Anglo-Indian chef in this rewrite of Pride and Prejudice. Trisha Raje is a princess whose family prides itself on its aristocratic Indian roots as well as its integration into American life. The Rajes are preparing for their scion’s gubernatorial campaign in the Bay Area when Trisha rejoins them after a period of estrangement (caused by her former college roommate). She and chef Darcy "DJ" Caine meet at a political event and sparks fly, but for all the wrong reasons. While the two try to smooth things over, subsequent encounters exacerbate their hostility and class divide. Yet, as any Austen fan knows, the fallout of their pride and biases will eventually be resolved. Dev (A Distant Heart, 2017, etc.) credibly reworks a beloved novel to include diverse representation, and her use of dual points of view reveals the internal lives of both protagonists. DJ’s love for Indian cooking is also an interesting flip of a more traditional script. But Dev creates equivalents to Regency England partly through a discomfiting choice to valorize Trisha’s royal Indian genes—not only does she descend from ancestors who fought the medieval Islamic Mughal rulers and the British Empire and joined the Indian freedom struggle, her relatives are good royals who practice noblesse oblige (including on visits to Africa) and nurture a household (including a member who is differently abled) and have an upper-class sense of art and music. This complimentary take on the one percent is common in the genre, but what is problematic here is that romanticizing a royal identity normalizes the caste hierarchy still practiced (albeit illegally) in South Asian society, including in the contemporary diaspora. So while this is undoubtedly a charming attempt to weave in Indian history and Maharashtrian culture (and address #MeToo), the novel is limited to a lovely but upper-class Hindu family’s tribulations and triumphs, reiterating a tendency among Indian cultural producers to limit happily-ever-afters to this group. The first in a multicultural #OwnVoices romance series, with an enemies-to-lovers central plot and distinctive supporting characters whose histories and dramas play out alongside the love story. (Kirkus Reviews, February 15, 2019)
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10779043
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Dev, Sonali
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3604.E883
LC item number
P75 2019
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
The Rajes
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Neurosurgeons
  • East Indian Americans
  • Cooks
  • San Francisco (Calif.)
  • East Indian Americans
  • FICTION / Contemporary Women
  • FICTION / Romance / Contemporary
  • FICTION / Family Life
  • East Indian Americans
  • California
Label
Pride, prejudice, and other flavors : a novel, Sonali Dev
Instantiates
Publication
Note
  • Text followed by P.S. section of insights, interviews & more
  • Series information from Goodreads.com
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
viii, 481, 6 pages
Isbn
9780062839053
Lccn
2019009606
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1089839619
Label
Pride, prejudice, and other flavors : a novel, Sonali Dev
Publication
Note
  • Text followed by P.S. section of insights, interviews & more
  • Series information from Goodreads.com
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
21 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
viii, 481, 6 pages
Isbn
9780062839053
Lccn
2019009606
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1089839619

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      85 Literary Lane, Newnan, GA, 30265, US
      33.38561 -84.669793

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...