Coverart for item
The Resource Evvie drake starts over : A Novel., Linda Holmes, (electronic resource)

Evvie drake starts over : A Novel., Linda Holmes, (electronic resource)

Label
Evvie drake starts over : A Novel.
Title
Evvie drake starts over
Title remainder
A Novel.
Statement of responsibility
Linda Holmes
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
From the host of NPR's Pop Culture Happy Hour podcast comes a heartfelt debut about the unlikely relationship between a young woman who's lost her husband and a major league pitcher who's lost his game. "A quirky, sweet, and splendid story of a woman coming into her own."—Taylor Jenkins Reid, New York Times bestselling author of Daisy Jones & The Six In a sleepy seaside town in Maine, recently widowed Eveleth "Evvie" Drake rarely leaves her large, painfully empty house nearly a year after her husband's death in a car crash. Everyone in town, even her best friend, Andy, thinks grief keeps her locked inside, and Evvie doesn't correct them. Meanwhile, in New York City, Dean Tenney, former Major League pitcher and Andy's childhood best friend, is wrestling with what miserable athletes living out their worst nightmares call the "yips": he can't throw straight anymore, and, even worse, he can't figure out why. As the media storm heats up, an invitation from Andy to stay in Maine seems like the perfect chance to hit the reset button on Dean's future. When he moves into an apartment at the back of Evvie's house, the two make a deal: Dean won't ask about Evvie's late husband, and Evvie won't ask about Dean's baseball career. Rules, though, have a funny way of being broken—and what starts as an unexpected friendship soon turns into something more. To move forward, Evvie and Dean will have to reckon with their pasts—the friendships they've damaged, the secrets they've kept—but in life, as in baseball, there's always a chance—up until the last out. A joyful, hilarious, and hope-filled debut, Evvie Drake Starts Over will have you cheering for the two most unlikely comebacks of the year—and will leave you wanting more from Linda Holmes.Advance praise for Evvie Drake Starts Over "Charming, hopeful, and gently romantic . . . Evvie Drake is great company."—Rainbow Rowell, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Eleanor & Park"Holmes writes with an easy warmth about kind people who are trying their best but messing things up anyway. . . . A warm and lovely romance, perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell and Louise Miller."—Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
Cataloging source
TEFOD
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Holmes, Linda
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fiction
  • Humor (Fiction)
  • Literature
Label
Evvie drake starts over : A Novel., Linda Holmes, (electronic resource)
Link
http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=100279&titleID=4501326
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
electronic
Isbn
9780525619253
Isbn Type
(electronic bk)
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Reproduction note
Electronic reproduction.
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
A5504AB5-B35E-4D3E-8262-F24B61A5DDEE
Label
Evvie drake starts over : A Novel., Linda Holmes, (electronic resource)
Link
http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=100279&titleID=4501326
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
  • cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
electronic
Isbn
9780525619253
Isbn Type
(electronic bk)
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • c
Reproduction note
Electronic reproduction.
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
A5504AB5-B35E-4D3E-8262-F24B61A5DDEE

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      85 Literary Lane, Newnan, GA, 30265, US
      33.38561 -84.669793

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...