Coverart for item
The Resource Button man : A Novel., Andrew Gross, (electronic resource)

Button man : A Novel., Andrew Gross, (electronic resource)

Label
Button man : A Novel.
Title
Button man
Title remainder
A Novel.
Statement of responsibility
Andrew Gross
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Button Man is a compelling, fast paced historical thriller that paints a rich portrait of the rise of organized crime in 1930's America. Fans of Boardwalk Empire and Dennis Lehane will love it." - Kristin Hannah, New York Times bestselling author of The NightingaleFollowing up The One Man and The Saboteur, Andrew Gross's next historical thriller audiobook brings to life the dramatic birth of organized crime in 1930s New York City from the tale of one family.After a string of New York Times bestselling suburban thrillers, Andrew Gross has reinvented himself as a writer of historical thrillers. In his latest audiobook, Button Man, he delivers a stirring story of a Jewish family brought together in the dawn of the women's garment business and torn apart by the birth of organized crime in New York City in the 1930s.Morris, Sol, and Harry Rabishevsky grew up poor and rough in a tiny flat on the Lower East Side, until the death of their father thrust them into having to fend for themselves and support their large family. Morris, the youngest, dropped out of school at twelve years old and apprenticed himself to a garment cutter in a clothing factory; Sol headed to accounting school; but Harry, scarred by a family tragedy, fell in with a gang of thugs as a teenager. Morris steadily climbs through the ranks at the factory until at twenty-one he finally goes out on his own, convincing Sol to come work with him. But Harry can't be lured away from the glamour, the power, and the money that come from his association with Louis Buchalter, whom Morris has battled with since his youth and who has risen to become the most ruthless mobster in New York. And when Buchalter sets his sights on the unions that staff the garment makers' factories, a fatal showdown is inevitable, pitting brother against brother.This new audiobook is equal parts historical thriller, rich with the detail of a vibrant New York City in the 1920s and 1930s, and family saga, based on Andrew Gross's own family story and on the history of the era, complete with appearances by real-life characters like mobsters Louis Lepke and Dutch Schultz and special prosecutor Thomas Dewey, and cements Gross's reputation as today's most atmospheric and original historical thriller writer
Accompanying matter
technical information on music
Cataloging source
TEFOD
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Gross, Andrew
PerformerNote
Narrator: Edoardo Ballerini
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Ballerini, Edoardo
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fiction
  • Historical Fiction
  • Mystery
  • Thriller
Label
Button man : A Novel., Andrew Gross, (electronic resource)
Link
http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=100279&titleID=3759891
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Unabridged
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Configuration of playback channels
stereophonic
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (9 audio files)
Form of item
electronic
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781427299253
Isbn Type
(sound recording)
Media category
  • audio
  • computer
Media MARC source
  • rdamedia
  • rdamedia
Media type code
  • s
  • c
Other physical details
digital
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • remote
  • other
Speed
unknown
Stock number
3CB9F028-F3AB-435B-9ECD-14995B7DCECB
System details
Requires OverDrive Listen (file size: N/A KB) or OverDrive app (file size: 275924 KB)
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable
Label
Button man : A Novel., Andrew Gross, (electronic resource)
Link
http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=100279&titleID=3759891
Publication
Note
Unabridged
Capture and storage technique
digital storage
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Configuration of playback channels
stereophonic
Content category
spoken word
Content type code
spw
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Edition
Unabridged.
Extent
1 online resource (9 audio files)
Form of item
electronic
Groove width / pitch
not applicable
Isbn
9781427299253
Isbn Type
(sound recording)
Media category
  • audio
  • computer
Media MARC source
  • rdamedia
  • rdamedia
Media type code
  • s
  • c
Other physical details
digital
Sound
sound
Special playback characteristics
digital recording
Specific material designation
  • remote
  • other
Speed
unknown
Stock number
3CB9F028-F3AB-435B-9ECD-14995B7DCECB
System details
Requires OverDrive Listen (file size: N/A KB) or OverDrive app (file size: 275924 KB)
Tape configuration
not applicable
Tape width
not applicable

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      85 Literary Lane, Newnan, GA, 30265, US
      33.38561 -84.669793

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...