Coverart for item
The Resource Best friends, Shannon Hale ; artwork by LeUyen Pham ; color by Hilary Sycamore

Best friends, Shannon Hale ; artwork by LeUyen Pham ; color by Hilary Sycamore

Label
Best friends
Title
Best friends
Statement of responsibility
Shannon Hale ; artwork by LeUyen Pham ; color by Hilary Sycamore
Creator
Contributor
Artist
Author
Colorist
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
When she becomes part of the in-crowd, Shannon begins to question whether she wants to remain there, in a story about popularity, first boyfriends, and finding a path in life
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Illustration
Award
School Library Journal Best Books, 2019.
Review
  • /* Starred Review */ Gr 4–7—Hale follows up her poignant graphic memoir Real Friends, which depicted the twists and turns of elementary school relationships. This time the author looks back on sixth grade. In 1985, Shannon and her friends were the oldest students and anticipated being queens of the school. They belonged to "The Group," a crew of new and old friends who were cute and popular but whose rules of behavior were capricious and confusing, often leaving Shannon anxious and struggling to make sense of it all and fit in. With each page turn, every character becomes ever more believable and complex, and the situations they experience ring true. The artwork is appealing and animated, with backgrounds that darken and become shadowy when Shannon is feeling isolated and sad. Panels move the action along with crisp lines, fun 1980s references, and well-placed, expressive speech balloons. The frequent fantasy sequences are beautifully color saturated, with lovely, hazy shapes that let readers' imaginations soar right along with Shannon's. An author's note speaks honestly and compassionately about anxiety and obsessive-compulsive disorder. VERDICT A terrific look at middle school culture, and a compelling sequel to a fabulous middle grade graphic memoir. This authentic, important book will mean a great deal to many kids and empower those who are happier following their own inclinations than in going along with the group.—Kelley Gile, Cheshire Public Library, CT --Kelley Gile (Reviewed 09/01/2019) (School Library Journal, vol 65, issue 8, p150)
  • /* Starred Review */ After traveling the rocky road of elementary school friendship in Real Friends (2017), Hale returns with another graphic memoir delving even deeper into preteen tribulations. Now in sixth grade, young Shannon is a member of "the Group," an assortment of popular and pretty girls that most notably includes best friend and group ringleader Jen and unrelenting mean-girl Jenny. However, infighting and treachery proliferate, leaving Shannon feeling frequently off balance as she strives to fit in and suppresses things she enjoys. She captures the dynamic brilliantly: "Sixth grade friendships were like a game... / only as soon as I'd figure out the rules... / they'd change again." In addition to laying bare the back-stabbing and cattiness, Hale also examines her struggles with anxiety and obsessive-compulsive tendencies with openness and honesty. Shannon's story is ultimately empowering, showing the satisfaction she feels following her own path. Hale and illustrator Pham (working with colorist Sycamore) capture the nuances of a typical middle school life, balancing Shannon's public woes with her inner conflicts and adding a fun dose of 1980s nostalgia. Pham's art is evocative in its simplicity; detailed facial expressions add emotional depth and accessibility for even the most reluctant readers. An author's note talks earnestly and age-appropriately about anxiety. Consider this a must-read for fans of Raina Telegmeier or Victoria Jamieson. Hale and her friends are predominately white, although students of color are present throughout. This glimpse into middle school is insightful, introspective, and important. (Graphic memoir. 7-12) (Kirkus Reviews, June 15, 2019)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10797261
Cataloging source
NjBwBT
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Hale, Shannon
Dewey number
741.5/973
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
LC call number
PZ7.7.H35
LC item number
Be 2019
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 4
  • 7
Nature of contents
comics graphic novels
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • Pham, LeUyen
  • Sycamore, Hilary
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Girls
  • Girls
  • Best friends
  • Best friends
  • Female friendship
  • Female friendship
  • Popularity
  • Popularity
  • Schools
  • Schools
  • Middle school students
  • Middle school students
  • Social acceptance in children
  • Social acceptance in children
  • Best friends
  • Friendship
  • Popularity
  • Schools
  • Graphic novels
Target audience
juvenile
Label
Best friends, Shannon Hale ; artwork by LeUyen Pham ; color by Hilary Sycamore
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
Chiefly illustrations
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
  • txt
  • sti
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
239 pages
Isbn
9781250317452
Lccn
bl2019019774
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
chiefly color illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)1112493275
Label
Best friends, Shannon Hale ; artwork by LeUyen Pham ; color by Hilary Sycamore
Publication
Copyright
Note
Chiefly illustrations
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
  • txt
  • sti
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First edition.
Extent
239 pages
Isbn
9781250317452
Lccn
bl2019019774
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
chiefly color illustrations
System control number
(OCoLC)1112493275

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      85 Literary Lane, Newnan, GA, 30265, US
      33.38561 -84.669793
    • A. Mitchell Powell Jr. BranchBorrow it
      25 Hospital Road, Newnan, GA, 30263, US
      33.387732 -84.816797

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...