Coverart for item
The Resource Before we were yours : A Novel., Lisa Wingate, (electronic resource)

Before we were yours : A Novel., Lisa Wingate, (electronic resource)

Label
Before we were yours : A Novel.
Title
Before we were yours
Title remainder
A Novel.
Statement of responsibility
Lisa Wingate
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERFor readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a "thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal."*Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents—but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals—in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.*Library JournalPraise for Before We Were Yours"A [story] of a family lost and found . . . a poignant, engrossing tale about sibling love and the toll of secrets."—People"Sure to be one of the most compelling books you pick up this year. . . . Wingate is a master-storyteller, and you'll find yourself pulled along as she reveals the wake of terror and heartache that is Georgia Tann's legacy."—Parade"One of the year's best books . . . It is impossible not to get swept up in this near-perfect novel."—The Huffington Post"Lisa Wingate takes an almost unthinkable chapter in our nation's history and weaves a tale of enduring power."—Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of Circling the Sun
Summary
A tale inspired by firsthand accounts about the notoriously corrupt Tennessee Children's Home Society follows the efforts of a Baltimore assistant D.A. to uncover her parents' fateful secrets in the wake of a political attack and a chance encounter with a stranger
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
  • Goodreads Choice Award, 2017
  • Librarians' Choice (Australia), 2017
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10560371
Cataloging source
TEFOD
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Wingate, Lisa
Dewey number
813
Index
no index present
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/lexile
760
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fiction
  • Historical Fiction
  • Literature
Target audience
adult
Label
Before we were yours : A Novel., Lisa Wingate, (electronic resource)
Link
http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=100279&titleID=3064617
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
electronic
Isbn
9780425284698
Isbn Type
(electronic bk)
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Reproduction note
Electronic reproduction.
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
57D18822-C382-4AE7-882A-208272B39ED6
Label
Before we were yours : A Novel., Lisa Wingate, (electronic resource)
Link
http://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=100279&titleID=3064617
Publication
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource
Form of item
electronic
Isbn
9780425284698
Isbn Type
(electronic bk)
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Reproduction note
Electronic reproduction.
Specific material designation
remote
Stock number
57D18822-C382-4AE7-882A-208272B39ED6

Library Locations

    • Central LibraryBorrow it
      85 Literary Lane, Newnan, GA, 30265, US
      33.38561 -84.669793

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...